- Who Owns the CDIPC and What It Actually Is
- The Two Eligibility Pathways at a Glance
- Pathway I: Work Hours Plus a Qualifying Credential
- Pathway II: Sterile Processing and Infection Prevention Credentials
- Accepted Education Options and the Certificate
- Keeping Four Similar-Sounding Items Straight
- From Approved Application to Exam Day
- What the Exam Will Test Once You Qualify
- Planning Your Prep Around Eligibility Milestones
- Staying Certified: Annual Renewal Requirements
- Who Benefits From Qualifying
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CDIPC means Certified in Dental Infection Prevention and Control, administered by DANB in collaboration with the Association for Dental Safety.
- Pathway I requires 1,040 qualifying work hours in the preceding three years plus one of several accepted credentials.
- Pathway II requires current CRCST, CIC, or CSPDT certification, the Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate, and an accepted education option.
- The exam fee is $270 for 100 questions in 75 minutes, with a 60-day authorized testing window.
Who Owns the CDIPC and What It Actually Is
The CDIPC, short for Certified in Dental Infection Prevention and Control, is a Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) credential developed with the Association for Dental Safety (ADS). It is a dental-specific certification aimed at people who run, oversee, or carry out infection prevention in dental settings. If you are trying to understand the credential at a basic level before worrying about eligibility, start with our explainer on what CDIPC certification is, then come back here for the qualification mechanics.
Eligibility for this exam is not open to anyone who simply wants to sit for it. DANB requires you to document a combination of experience, a foundational credential, and education before you are authorized to test. The rules live in the 2026 CDIPC Exam Information Packet (updated May 14, 2026), and that packet is the document to trust. An older, abbreviated version of the requirements on a web page can read differently, so whenever the two seem to disagree, follow the packet.
The Two Eligibility Pathways at a Glance
DANB offers two routes to the CDIPC. Both lead to the same exam, but they start from different professional backgrounds. Pathway I is built for people working in dental settings. Pathway II is built for people who already hold a recognized sterile processing or infection prevention certification. Both pathways involve the Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate and an accepted education option, which we unpack below.
| Requirement | Pathway I | Pathway II |
|---|---|---|
| Work experience | 1,040 hours in the preceding three years in a dental setting following U.S. federal infection-control standards | The Pathway I work-hour requirement is not stated for Pathway II |
| Foundational credential | One of: qualifying ICE exam pass within five years; current CDA, COA, or NELDA certification; current DISIPC certification; or the Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate plus an accepted education option | Current CRCST, CIC, or CSPDT certification |
| Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate | Part of one of the credential options | Required |
| Accepted education option | Part of one of the credential options | Required |
Notice what Pathway II does not say: the packet does not state the 1,040-hour requirement for it. Do not assume it applies, and do not assume it is waived in every circumstance either. Confirm directly in the packet or with DANB if your situation sits near the edge.
Pathway I: Work Hours Plus a Qualifying Credential
Pathway I has two layers: experience and a qualifying credential. You need both.
The experience layer
You must have completed 1,040 hours of qualifying work in the preceding three years. The work must take place in a dental setting and follow U.S. federal infection-control standards. Two details matter here. First, the three-year window is rolling and tied to your application, so older experience does not count toward it. Second, the standards clause is deliberate: the hours need to reflect infection-control practice aligned with federal expectations, not merely time spent in a dental office. Keep your own records, including employer, dates, and a description of infection-control duties, so you can answer any documentation questions.
The credential layer
Beyond the hours, Pathway I asks for one of the following:
- A qualifying pass on the DANB ICE exam within the past five years
- Current CDA, COA, or NELDA certification
- Current DISIPC certification
- The Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate plus an accepted education option
The five-year clock on the ICE exam is easy to overlook. If you passed the ICE exam long ago and have no other qualifying credential, that pass may no longer satisfy this requirement. If you hold CDA, COA, or NELDA certification, the key word in the packet is current, meaning the certification must be active rather than lapsed.
Pathway II: Sterile Processing and Infection Prevention Credentials
Pathway II recognizes professionals whose training began outside the dental office but who now work with, or want to work with, dental infection prevention. To qualify, you need one of these current certifications:
- CRCST (the sterile processing credential)
- CIC (the infection prevention and control credential)
- CSPDT (the sterile processing and distribution technician credential)
On top of that, Pathway II requires the Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate and an accepted education option. In practical terms, this pathway lets a sterile processing professional or an infection preventionist bridge into the dental-specific credential by adding the dental coursework rather than starting from scratch.
These source credentials each come from different certifying bodies and carry their own maintenance rules. The requirement is that yours is current at the time you apply, so a lapsed CRCST, CIC, or CSPDT will not do the job.
Accepted Education Options and the Certificate
Education appears in both pathways, so it is worth understanding. According to the packet, accepted education options include:
- Designated DALE/ADS infection-control courses
- A qualifying CODA-accredited program
- An eligible associate-or-higher degree
The word designated on the course option matters. Not every infection-control class counts; the courses must be among those DANB and ADS identify. Likewise, a CODA-accredited program or a degree must be qualifying or eligible under the packet's terms. Before enrolling anywhere, check that the specific course or program appears among the accepted options. Paying for coursework that DANB does not recognize is one of the most avoidable mistakes in this process.
If you are weighing the budget implications of the certificate and coursework alongside the exam itself, see our breakdown of CDIPC certification cost. For a look at structured learning options beyond the minimum, our page on CDIPC training covers how candidates approach preparation.
Keeping Four Similar-Sounding Items Straight
A lot of confusion in this area comes from four separate items that sound alike. Each is distinct, and mixing them up can derail an application.
| Item | What it is | Role in CDIPC eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| CDIPC | The Certified in Dental Infection Prevention and Control credential and exam | The goal of the application |
| ICE exam | A separate DANB infection-control exam | One way to satisfy the Pathway I credential layer, if passed within five years |
| DISIPC | A separate DANB certification | Current DISIPC certification is one Pathway I option |
| Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate | An educational certificate, separate from the CDIPC credential | Required in Pathway II; part of one Pathway I option |
The most common slip is treating the educational certificate as if it were the CDIPC credential itself. It is not. The certificate is a prerequisite component, while the CDIPC is the credential you earn by passing the exam. Similarly, the ICE exam and DISIPC are related but separate, and each plays only the role described above. If the acronyms still blur together, our pages on what CDIPC stands for and what CDIPC is are useful companions.
From Approved Application to Exam Day
Once DANB approves your eligibility, the logistics are fairly clear. Understanding them early helps you plan.
- Fee: The exam fee is $270.
- Testing window: You receive a 60-day authorized testing window in which to take the exam.
- Delivery: Pearson VUE delivers the closed-book, computer-based exam, either at a test center or through online remote proctoring.
- Format: 100 multiple-choice questions in a 75-minute examination.
- Results: Official results normally appear in your DANB account within one to three business days.
A few format details deserve attention because they affect how you pace yourself. You must answer every question to receive a result, and you cannot return to a submitted item or change its answer. That means there is no flagging-and-revisiting strategy here. Some items may be unscored pretest questions, and you will not be able to tell which are which, so treat every question as if it counts. DANB uses a criterion-referenced passing standard, which means your result reflects whether you met the standard rather than how you ranked against other candidates. For more on how that plays out, see our guide to the CDIPC passing score, and for scheduling specifics, our page on CDIPC exam dates and testing windows.
What the Exam Will Test Once You Qualify
Qualifying is only the first hurdle. The exam outline, effective June 1, 2022 and still linked from the current exam page, divides content into four weighted domains. The names below reproduce the official weighted overview.
Domain 1: Policies and Administrative Responsibilities (15%)
The program-management side of infection control.
- Written policies and procedures
- Training, documentation, and record-keeping responsibilities
- Regulatory and guideline awareness at the practice level
Domain 2: Patient and Dental Health Care Provider Protection (25%)
Protecting the people in the operatory. Note that the detailed outline heading uses the wording Patient and Dental Healthcare Personnel Protection, while the overview retains the wording above.
- Personal protective equipment and hand hygiene
- Exposure prevention and response
- Immunization and health considerations for personnel
Domain 3: Environmental Asepsis and Disinfection (30%)
One of the two largest domains.
- Surface barriers and surface disinfection
- Selecting and using disinfectants correctly
- Dental unit waterlines and treatment-area turnover
Domain 4: Sterilization and Instrument Processing (30%)
The other largest domain.
- Cleaning, packaging, and sterilizing instruments
- Monitoring sterilization with biological, chemical, and mechanical indicators
- Storage, handling, and workflow for processed instruments
Domains 3 and 4 are jointly largest at 30% each, so together they account for 60% of the exam. For a full walkthrough of each area, read our complete guide to the four CDIPC exam domains.
Planning Your Prep Around Eligibility Milestones
Because eligibility steps come first and the testing window is only 60 days, sequence matters more than usual. A sensible CDIPC-specific order looks like this:
Confirm you qualify
- Verify your pathway, hours, and credential against the 2026 packet
- Confirm any course or program is an accepted education option
Build the heavy domains first
- Begin with Domain 4 and Domain 3, since they carry 60% of the exam combined
- Practice instrument processing and monitoring scenarios in detail
Add protection and policy
- Cover Domain 2 (25%) and Domain 1 (15%)
- Drill under timed conditions with no ability to change answers
For a full preparation plan, see our CDIPC study guide, and to size up the challenge, read how hard the CDIPC exam is. When you are ready to test yourself on realistic questions, try the CDIPC practice tests.
Staying Certified: Annual Renewal Requirements
Meeting the requirements once is not the end. CDIPC-only renewal is annual and asks for six infection-control continuing education credits and a $50 fee. CPR is not required for CDIPC-only renewal, which sets it apart from some other dental credentials. Note the phrase CDIPC-only: if you hold other DANB credentials, those carry their own renewal rules, so check each one separately.
The annual cycle means you should log CE as you go rather than scrambling at renewal time. Only infection-control credits count toward the six, so choose coursework accordingly. Our page on CDIPC certification covers the credential from a maintenance perspective as well.
Who Benefits From Qualifying
The two pathways point toward the kinds of people who pursue this credential. Pathway I fits dental assistants and other dental team members who handle infection control daily and want formal recognition. Pathway II fits sterile processing technicians and infection preventionists who are moving toward or already working in dental environments.
Employers that value the credential tend to be those with a real stake in demonstrable infection-control competence: dental practices, multi-location group practices, and organizations that manage compliance across sites. We do not publish earnings claims here, but if you are weighing the return on the effort, see our analyses of whether the CDIPC is worth it and the CDIPC salary guide, and browse CDIPC jobs for the roles where it shows up.
Frequently Asked Questions
Under Pathway I, you need 1,040 hours of qualifying work in the preceding three years in a dental setting following U.S. federal infection-control standards. The packet does not state this work-hour requirement for Pathway II, so confirm details there directly.
Pathway II is designed for people holding current CRCST, CIC, or CSPDT certification. You also need the Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate and an accepted education option. The Pathway I work-hour requirement is not stated for Pathway II.
No. The certificate is a separate educational component that serves as a prerequisite in certain routes. The CDIPC is the credential you earn by passing the proctored exam.
The exam fee is $270. CDIPC-only renewal is annual and costs $50, plus six infection-control continuing education credits. CPR is not required for CDIPC-only renewal. Education and certificate costs are separate.
No. You must answer all questions to receive a result, and you cannot return to a submitted item or change its answer. Pace yourself across the 100 questions and 75 minutes accordingly.
For a deeper look at how results are determined, see our breakdown of the CDIPC pass rate, and for a quick-reference refresher, use the CDIPC cheat sheet. Whenever you are ready to put your knowledge to the test, head to the main practice site to start working through exam-style questions.